Town of Firestone, SAFEbuilt present 2014 scholarships

-A A +A

FIRESTONE — Three local high school seniors were awarded scholarships at the May 14 Firestone Board of Trustees meeting for their academic excellence, demonstrated outstanding public service and plan to further their education.


Firestone Trustees Bobbi Sindelar and George Heath served as the scholarship committee to select the winners from many exceptional students. The town awarded two of the scholarships, and local building inspection company, SAFEbuilt, presented the third scholarship.


  The Excellence in Academics Scholarship went to Abigail Kraft, who will be attending Colorado Mesa University to pursue a degree in physician assisting.

The Career Advancement Scholarship was awarded to Caroline Curtis. She plans to attend Front Range Community College this fall.

SAFEbuilt Building Official Barry Kramer awarded Krystal Burke the SAFEbuilt Academic Excellence Scholarship. Burke plans to emergency response nursing at the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs.