United Way of Weld County announces newly elected Board of Directors, officers

-A A +A
By The Staff

GREELEY — United Way of Weld County earlier this month announced new members for its board of directors and the 2014-15 officers.

United Way of Weld County is a nonprofit organization whose mission is to improve lives by mobilizing the caring power of our community.  The funded and provided programs and services vital to carrying out that mission focus education, financial stability and health of everyone in Weld County. In addition, it is a priority to help people access services and collaborate to solve community concerns.

United Way of Weld County is governed by a local Board of Directors made up of community leaders who commit their time and resources to make this United Way the best it can be. It is their leadership that has made this a mission driven, customer service United Way. It is a policy and decision-making board that is focused on accountability and efficiency.

  “The level of experience and leadership on the United Way of Weld County Board of Directors is astounding,” said Jeannine Truswell, President & CEO of United Way of Weld County. “I am proud to work with and for this esteemed group who challenge and support us to continuously improve and be our best.  The extent of their commitment to the mission of the organization, to accountability and the wise use of funds are significant.”

Board members serve three-year terms, which can be renewed. United Way of Weld County strives to have a quality representation of the community on its board of directors. In addition to attending monthly meetings, Board members accept other responsibilities, including serving on various committees, which include Audit/Finance Committee, Governance Committee, Promises for Children, Community Impact Investment Council, Development Council, 2-1-1, and Events.

  Officers for 2014-15 include: Jay Hinrichs, Chair; Margie Martinez Perusek, Chair Elect; Robert Janata, Vice Chair; Rebecca Koppes-Conway, Vice Chair; Fred Otis, Vice Chair; and Ted Warner, Treasurer, and Sami Smith, Campaign Chair.

Newly elected Board Members are: Judy Green - Anadarko Petroleum; Bryan Guest - Great Western Bank; Mike Rankin – Kaiser Permanente; and Sami Smith – Professional Finance Co.

Continuing Directors are: CJ Archibeque, City of Greeley; Rich Bartels, Bartels & Company LLC; Gary Burton, PBI, Inc.; Dan Dennie, NCMC/Banner Health; Mike Freeman, Weld County Commissioner; Mike Geile, Consultant; Randy Geist, JBS USA; Kathy Hamblin, Educator, UNC & Aims; Robert Lowenbach, JRL Consulting; Ken Poncelow, City of Ft Lupton; Virginia Rosales, Principal, Salida del Sol Academy; Becky Safarik, City of Greeley; Cathy Schulte, Upstate Economic Development; Nancy Teksten; Mike Trotter, Front Range Roofing; and Randy Watkins, Anton, Collins, Mitchell, LLP.

The following board members have recently retired from the board, but continue to support the UWWC in many ways: Bruce Broderius, Bill May and Manny Sisneros.

These talented and dedicated community professionals work tirelessly to support the mission and goals of the UWWC, provide guidance to the professional staff and provide you with accountability and transparency in the operation of this great organization.

For more information about getting involved, please visit www.UnitedWay-Weld.org or call 970-353-4300.